skip navigation

Legion FC Releases New 2020 USL Championship Schedule

By Clayton Humphries, 07/07/20, 12:00PM CDT

Share

BHM will play home opener Wednesday, July 15 vs. Memphis 901 FC

BIRMINGHAM, AL (July 7, 2020) – Birmingham Legion FC announced its 2020 USL Championship schedule today. The club will play 16 regular season matches from July 15 to October 3 to complete the newly formatted USL Championship regular season.

Eight contests will take place in downtown Birmingham at BBVA Field, with the first coming in just eight days against rival club Memphis 901 FC on Wednesday, July 15 at 7PM. Single game tickets are available now, and the match will also air live on ESPN2.

Legion FC was placed in Group G for the remainder of the season and will compete with the Charlotte Independence, Memphis, and North Carolina FC for two available playoff spots. Birmingham will play each team in its group four times, twice each at home and on the road.

Outside of the group, the club will play each team in Group H once to round out the full schedule. Group H includes Atlanta United 2, the Charleston Battery, USL Championship newcomers Miami FC, and the Tampa Bay Rowdies. Every match will count towards the 2020 points total and determine the standings in Group G.

“The group we’ve drawn will be difficult,” said Legion FC Head Coach and Technical Director Tommy Soehn. “We’ll have to maintain our focus throughout, but the guys are really excited to get back to playing and to be back in front of our fans.”

As announced last week, BBVA Field will be open to fans, at limited capacity. Check out all Health and Safety Protocols in place at the stadium here.

Schedule highlights:

  • Four rivalry match ups with Memphis 901 FC, with two at BBA Field, July 15th and August 22nd
  • The first rematch with North Carolina FC since last season’s playoff victory takes place in Cary, NC on August 1. NCFC returns to BHM September 2nd and September 26th.
  • Legion FC faces expansion side Miami FC for the first time ever, on the road, on September 16
  • The Rowdies are near the top of the USL Championship’s Power Rankings, and the club comes to town for a showdown July 25th.
  • Of Legion FC’s eight home matches, five are Saturday contests, and three are on Wednesdays.
Date & Time Opponent Location
Wed, July 15, 7PM Memphis 901 FC BBVA Field
Sun, July 19, 7PM Charleston Battery MUSC Health Stadium
Sat, July 25, TBA Tampa Bay Rowdies BBVA Field
Sat, Aug 1, TBA North Carolina FC WakeMed Soccer Park
Wed, Aug 5, TBA Charlotte Independence BBVA Field
Sat, Aug 8, TBA Atlanta United 2 BBVA Field
Wed, Aug 12, 6PM Charlotte Independence Sportsplex at Matthews
Sat, Aug 15, TBA North Carolina FC WakeMed Soccer Park
Sat, Aug 22, TBA Memphis 901 FC BBVA Field
Sat, Aug 29, 6PM Charlotte Independence Sportsplex at Matthews
Wed, Sept 2, TBA North Carolina FC BBVA Field
Sat, Sept 5, TBA Memphis 901 FC AutoZone Park
Sat, Sept 12, TBA Charlotte Independence BBVA Field
Wed, Sept 16, TBA Miami FC Riccardo Silva Stadium
Sat, Sept 26, TBA North Carolina FC BBVA Field
Sat, Oct 3, TBA Memphis 901 FC AutoZone Park

Latest USL News